20th-21st June 1992: DiY at Laxton Solstice Free Festival, Wakerly Woods, Northamptonshire

Apparently the police restricted access to this site. Don’t know any details though, can anyone help?

I just got a nice email from someone called Pete, who was at this. The photos he mentions are on Alan ‘Tash’ Lodge’s site (see ‘links’ section on the bottom right of the main page), it’s well worth a visit if you want to see some great photos of free festivals and raves in the period this site covers. Pete, if you’re reading this, yes, we’d love to hear some more of your memories πŸ™‚ Anyway, here’s Pete’s mail.

I didn’t make it to Lechlade or Castlemorton but a friend had been insisting I go to all that led up to them and to those 2 big ones and it was only after hearing the tales of Lech’ and ‘morton that I decided to go, and the first thing following as I remember was Laxton.

I never hear of anyone mentioning the Laxton and Colville fest/site parties tho’,and wonder if you have..

I think Tash has 2 photos from Laxton, but of folks, not the scene,cant see much.. and Laxton, being my first, and an acid flip top head opener, really makes me wish to hear about and see photos even video of.

Here are a couple of pics that turned up on the Traveller Homes site: http://www.travellerhomes.co.uk/?p=1912
http://www.travellerhomes.co.uk/?p=1911

10 Responses to “20th-21st June 1992: DiY at Laxton Solstice Free Festival, Wakerly Woods, Northamptonshire”

  1. mattoid (little matty) Says:

    I was at Laxton. It was one of the most bizarre festival/parties of the whole period. The police had locked down the whole area so that nobody could get in or out (this is from my memory of the rumour mill at the time). They seemed to be worried that this would turn into ‘another Castlemorton’. They probably still don’t understand that if they hadn’t shut so many small parties the big ones wouldn’t have come about.
    There was a helecopter overhead most of the time, and RAF Harriers flying over. People made undercover sorties into nearby farmyards to collect water.
    I remember there being some problem with people dancing on the rooves of buses, and somebody making a statement over the PA “please, these are our homes.”
    I made some very good friends at Laxton, who I still see regularly to this day. There was another sound system besides DiY. Who was that?

  2. jam Says:

    Armageddon soundsystem and circus warp playing tapes!?

  3. Ben Says:

    Hi
    I was there and danced on the roof of a Bus!!!
    I remember some of the people that I met there – but not much else.

    I’m in a picture on the back of a DiY record, that was taken in Laxton (I think).

    freepartypeople says: I might scan that record cover one of these days, if it’s the one I’m thinking of, it’s DiY: Hothead πŸ™‚ (good tune, incidentally).

  4. Matt Lewis Says:

    I was there , though I gotta admit my memories are a bit hazy (for some reason).
    It was my first outdoor party of the summer after returning from India just after Castlemorton . I remember that we arrived on site around midnight and just before all the roadblocks went up . It wasn’t until about 3am that the DiY rig started up (some kit was delayed by the roadblocks) . This party was awesome in the hot sun with the 92 vibe in full effect . I continued to party with DiY and Smokescreen for the next 4-5 years but this was definitely one of the best ….. “You know I’m rushin’ just a lil lil bit too fast ……….!”

  5. mischief Says:

    ive got video footage from this party.. soon to be editted and unleashed on the world .. watch this space πŸ™‚

    freepartypeople says: fantastic! we’d love to see it, let us know when it’s ready πŸ™‚

    • Anonymous Says:

      hi mischief.. anything happened with that video at all? be great to see.. just found some video of smeathearpe on youtube this week too..

      enjoy..

  6. Anonymous Says:

    This was at Wakerly Woods. Whitley Woods is in Hampshire.

  7. smoot Says:

    Pretty sure I remember some of the Spiral lot turning up in the day after their party in Canary Wharf got busted. Easygroove was playing on Armageddon Soundsystem some pretty mad belgian style techno. DiY were rocking it in the night though with a great crowd and atmosphere.

  8. Steph Says:

    Although its titled ‘Leicester Free Party 92’ on the clip, I’m pretty sure this is from Laxton Solstice. Can anyone confirm yay or nay?

  9. Steph Says:

    Looking above, I believe this might be the video that ‘mischief’ refers to πŸ˜‰

    P.S. There’s a small scan of the rear of the Hothead sleeve here (discogs).

Leave a Reply

