Some old school mixes and tracks

These are all newish mixes using top tunes from the era this website covers. Hope you enjoy them as much as I do πŸ™‚

http://soundcloud.com/amino-clang/love4life2010

http://conehead.fun-in-the-murky.com/2008/06/dj-conehead-unmix-12-breakbeat-hardcore-parts-1-2.html

http://conehead.fun-in-the-murky.com/2009/02/dj-conehead-unmix-15-breakbeat-hardcore-parts-3-4.html

http://theacidhouse.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/re-upped-visions-of-1991-mix/

This last one is on Tim Acid’s blog. he’s posted here before and his blog’s always got lots of good stuff on it.

Thanks a million to Ben for hooking me up with the DJ Producer oldskool mix, really enjoying it right now! Tracklist for this is out there somewhere. It’s apparently an Ableton mix and he’s sort of chopped up and layered all sorts of oldskool niceness together in a big hardcore rave flavoured sandwich. Yum.

Here it is: http://rapidshare.com/files/204371849/THE_DJ_PRODUCER_OLDSKOOL_8.mp3.html

Other mixes can be found by following the ‘mp3’ and ‘mixtape’ links on the right. If any of the links die please let me know and I’ll re-upload them ASAP.

At the time we used to say ‘hardcore you know the score’. We didn’t even really consider it a style of music, especially as you’d hear loads of different styles in one night and in one DJ’s set (you’d also hear a lot of influences/genres/styles in the space of one tune, which I guess is what hardcore is, by my definition anyway πŸ˜‰ )

At Spirals parties techno started to play a larger part after a while. However,Β  I can remember hearing all sorts of styles on their rig, partly ‘cos they let ‘other’ DJ’sΒ  on (e.g. chancers who just turned up with a record bag and said ‘can I play?’- for example an unknown but very good DJ from Dorset did this at Castlemorton), and partly because they weren’t (as lots of people seem to think) a finite entity with exactly (marketingspeak here I think!) 23 members. Bedlam were quite generous at letting guest DJ’s play, maybe even more than Spirals, I’m not 100% certain. If anyone can shed any light on this I’d be pleased to hear from you. I guess you’ve got to let other people on if you’re running a party for such extended periods of time πŸ˜›

In my rather faulty memory banks I can only connect a handful of specific tunes with a handful of specific parties. For instance at the Spirals do in Rhayader I remember Aphex Twin’s ‘Digeridoo’ and Urban Shakedown’s Some Justice’:

A commenter, Ben, had this to say on the subject of the tune above:Β  I cannot hear β€˜Some Justice’ without thinking of Castlemorton. At some point on the Sunday night I walked a mile or so away from site in the pitch-dark to, ahem, clear my head a little as the Screaming Buddha’s had made everything a little too *intense*. After half an hour or so of just lying on my back staring at the stars the Ce-Ce Rogers vocal sample drifted lovingly through the air towards me, inspiring me to drag myself off of the floor, and back to the party.

Another contributor to this page clearly remembers Epitome of Hype’s ‘Ladies With An Attitude playing in the Circus Warp tent at Castlemorton. At the time he thought it was a DJ being clever with Madonna’s ‘Vogue’ (which the track samples) but since then he’s realised it was this:

At Happy Days Free Festival in Kerry I remember hearing DJ Aztek playing Brother From Another Planet’s ‘Planet Earth’.

Happy listening!

11 Responses to “Some old school mixes and tracks”

  1. Ben Says:

    Hey geezer,

    Here is a link to that Producer mix – it is very good:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/204371849/THE_DJ_PRODUCER_OLDSKOOL_8.mp3.html – let me know if it has uploaded ok.

    And re tunes and parties – I cannot hear ‘Some Justice’ without thinking of Castlemorton. At some point on the Sunday night I walked a mile or so away from site in the pitch-dark to, ahem, clear my head a little as the Screaming Buddha’s had made everything a little too *intense*. After half an hour or so of just lying on my back staring at the stars the Ce-Ce Rogers vocal sample drifted lovingly through the air towards me, inspiring me to drag myself off of the floor, and back to the party.

    Love the blog, by the way – some fantastic posts, reminding me of things I had forgot I had forgotten, if you know what I mean!

  2. theacidhouse Says:

    Nice 1 Cheers for linkage πŸ™‚

    Yep I have posted on here before….love this blog.. I used to follow the free party scene for a few years during 1991-1993 .. Longstock, Torpedo Town, various squat parties, Twyford Down …happy daze

    I have been trying to find pictures of Torpedo Town 91 & 92…I do have a jpeg for a flyer for Torpedo Town 91 if you want it.

    Nice 1…keep the faith πŸ™‚

  3. bensansum Says:

    Hey geezer,

    I sent a comment with a link to that Producer mix you mentioned – did it get lost in the ether?

    love the blog,

    cheers,

    Ben

  4. Clare Says:

    I remember these parties they were the best, had a friend called ‘BEN’ who use to DJ often wonder what happened to him. Betcha the ben who writes on here aint the same one. I would love to go to another one of these parties. Loved um x

  5. Steph Says:

    Absolutely magnificent site – so many memories of those days – Castlemorton, Tubney Woods, Spiral events, and the early arrival of Exodus.

    There was a moment between 92-95 with these parties, and stuff like CJB, Twyford, etc. when I honestly thought that a revolution to the soundtrack of ‘repetitive beats’ might truly be possible! Oh well, I still live in hope that one day πŸ˜‰

    Two mixes of mine that you and your visitors might be interested in, very much influenced by these times – Back to 92 (hardcore) and Breach the Peace (techno)

    Enjoy and keep the up the good work!

  6. Justin Light Says:

    Hi the unknown dj from dorset could have be me me! Diola was/ is my dj name and i played at castle morton for spiral . may not have been me but there were very few people djing then..
    Maybe, possibly!

  7. Justin Light Says:

    Awsome blog by the way. I’ve only just found it, posted on the oblivion info too!

  8. Guillaume - 716 Says:

    Hello! I’m looking for a Spiral Tribe that was sold on the London Flea market circa 1992, any links? Thanks

Leave a Reply

